News & Happenings

Entry ban and 14-day quarantine for arrivals from six countries

The Sarawak government has updated its Covid-19 Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) with arrivals from six known countries banned, or either required to undergo mandatory quarantine.

The new SOPs will be effective immediately (28 November 2021).

In a statement by the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), the move is to curb the spread of the latest Covid-19 virus variant, Omicron.

That said, any arrivals from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe are now subject to extra Covid-19 precautions with non-Malaysian banned from enter Sarawak if they had been to any of the six countries in the past 14 days.

For Malaysians, they are allowed into Sarawak borders but will be required to undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine at dedicated quarantine centres at their first point of entry into Malaysia.

Their ‘first point of entry’ can be anywhere in Malaysia and is not limited to Sarawak.  Transit travel during quarantine is not allowed as well.

Once they have completed the 14-day mandatory quarantine, they will be subject to local entry laws accordingly.

For Sarawak, they must fill in the Enter Sarawak app and have a negative Covid-19 PT-PCR test on the 12 day of quarantine prior to entering Sarawak.

The full SOPs can be seen in the info graphics below which was provided by SDMC.



Cyril Dason

Cyril Dason was born and currently lives in Kuching. He loves jungle trekking, clean rivers and chilling out with friends.

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Please share the link instead.