Kuching, together with Serian and Samarahan divisions will be ‘locked-away’ from the rest of Sarawak beginning 1st August 2020.

The move was announced by the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) today.

It would see all three divisions grouped as ‘Zone 1’ with the rest of Sarawak clustered as ‘Zone 2’.

According to SDMC, those in Zone 1 are not allowed to leave their respective zone unless they obtain prior permission from the police.

Inter-zone travel will only be allowed for the following reasons by the police:

  • Moving because of official duty, or
  • Working in essential services, or
  • Death of a close family member, or
  • Having a family member who is very sick, or
  • Need medical care.

The travel restrictions come as SDMC try to decrease Covid-19 infections in Kuching, Samarahan and Serian.